If we were having coffee, I’d tell you about my roller coaster week

This post is part of a link-up hosted by Part-Time Monster

Thanks to Part-Time Monster for hosting this linkup!

If we were having coffee today, I’d be drinking tea. I’m coming down with a cold and woke up with a sore throat this morning. There is never a good time to have a cold.

It’s worse for Cassatt; colds trigger an asthma attack for him. Fortunately we had some steroids left over from the last time this happened, so I could give him some before I took him to the doctor. This saved him from needing a breathing treatment while we were at the doctor. But now we have a 4 year old who is much more active than usual due to steroids.

***

If we were having coffee I would tell you how elated I am about my teacher seminar. When I first imagined the seminar, it was in response to a report that cited the high rates of suspension and expulsion among kids with disabilities, especially among minorities. ADHD often comes with behaviors that lead to discipline, and it is my hope that, by bringing this seminar to St. Louis, teachers would learn ways to better teach kids with ADHD and learn about effective discipline for these kids. I had especially wanted teachers from minority school districts to come, enough so that I was hoping to allow some to attend at no cost. This week, we were given money for scholarships for teachers from under-preforming minority school districts. I am beyond thrilled to have this recognized as a need and to have funds for these teachers.

The next challenge is getting enough people to register. But flyers just went out last week, so the seminar is still relatively unknown. I just hope teachers learn about it in time to request reimbursement from their schools.

***

If we were having coffee I would tell you I had a minor car accident this week. The side of my car is pretty torn up, but nobody was injured. The kids were both in school, so they didn’t experience it at all. But it is an inconvenience, and it will take time to get everything settled.

***

Thanks for joining me for coffee this morning. I can’t wait to hear about your week!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Aug 29, 2015 @ 19:52:44

    Sorry to hear about the cold and about the car accident! Glad that you’re fine and no major damage was done. And so happy to hear about the scholarships for your teaching seminar/program—that’s really great. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s on my menu?

Follow Season of Motherhood on WordPress.com
