If we were having coffee I’d give you peaches …

This post is part of a link-up hosted by Part-Time Monster

Thanks to Part-Time Monster for hosting a weekly coffee share linkup!

 

I’m hustling peaches this week. We went peach picking last weekend and went a little bit overboard. 3 boxes holds more than I thought it would! I had wanted some to can and make jam. I ended up with 16 jars of jam, 3 jars of peach butter, 7 jars of jam, a pie, and enough left over to do something else with. And plenty to eat, too. It has been a delicious week. But busy!!!

Besides the peaches, we’ve been busy with the end of summer and the first days of school. Picasso chose to go to the Magic House both Monday and Tuesday. We never stay at a museum all day; we all get exhausted after a few hours. So we didn’t get to see on Monday many things that he wanted to see, which is why we had to go back. It’s a good thing we’re members!

School started Wednesday, and I thought I would get a bunch done while the kids are in school. Boy was I wrong! Besides the hour that pickup takes out of my day, I have been crazy getting things ready for the seminar in October. We now have a location contract and brochures are FINALLY ready to send out! I spent a lot of time with the mailing house this week, getting bulk mail status cleared away and making sure the brochures were good to mail out. As soon as I dropped Cassatt off for his first day, I went downtown to the post office only to find out that 1. I didn’t have to fill out all the paperwork I had filled out; 2. I probably could have taken care of it with a phone call (although I was told they don’t answer the phones); and 3. the computers were down so they couldn’t help me anyway. Fortunately they took my information and called me back the next day with what I needed.

Saturday morning was spent in training to be an MPACT parent mentor. Basically, I will be helping parents get special education for their kids. This is some of the advocacy I was doing when I was practicing law, and I really enjoy it.

We squeezed in time for a date night last night. We went to the City Museum and had fun climbing through tunnels and caves and sliding down the 10 story slide. I only panicked a little from the heights!

I hope your week has gone well. What should I do with the rest of my peaches?

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Eggers
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 14:31:36

    Sounds like you were really busy!! Using your new canner? Maybe we can have some in dec when we come. Love

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Diana
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 16:03:46

    The museum sounds awesome. We haven’t been to our local museums lately, mostly because of the heat, but this reminds that we should go back soon.

    And my, what a lot of peaches! We’re switching from the cakes and things we’d let ourselves get accustomed to eating to fruits, so we’d probably take them off your hands. šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. somemaid
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 18:13:45

    I love peaches, but never have them in great quanities so I’m out of ideas apart from jam. Could you freeze them at all? This week’s been mainly about spending time with the kids before school starts again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Corina
    Aug 23, 2015 @ 21:19:39

    So glad you finally got the location for the October event! Yay! The peaches sound delicious, I’m sure they were. I miss all the fruit that was available in California when I lived there. We can get it here in Oregon, too but not in such abundance, not as cheaply, and often the taste is just not California unless it came from there then it costs a lot more because it came from there!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Sarah
      Aug 24, 2015 @ 01:34:12

      Yes, I’m very excited about the October event location! It’s funny, I daydream about living in Oregon, and you are wishing to be in California!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Corina
        Aug 24, 2015 @ 01:50:06

        I love California. I was born and raised there. I lived there for 52 years. The only reason I moved is that it got too expensive for me to pay the rent. I don’t think I could ever go back and only my youngest lives there but she is moving to Oregon so I really don’t have any hope of ever going back, except to visit my mom.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol Eggers
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 15:13:07

    Sounds like you were really busy!! And it sounds delicious. Mom

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

What’s on my menu?

Follow Season of Motherhood on WordPress.com
